Get the latest information and updates on GPRC’s response to COVID-19
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Resources

Dictionaries:

Oxford English Dictionary Online

A comprehensive, trustworthy online English dictionary.

 

                    

Photo by Tom Hermans on Unsplash

Encyclopedias:

Credo Online Reference

A great source for background inspiration when starting your research/trying to gather ideas.

Salem Press Ebook Collection

Although the title of the page mentions Ebooks, its links also include general information on several notable authors, as well as literary genres, major world events, and critical surveys.

The Canadian Encyclopedia

Run by Historica Canada, this online encyclopedia contains lots of information on Canadian topics.

GALE in Context: World History

If your English course involves literature related to specific time periods, locations, cultures, etc., this database is a great place to find background information on major events and concepts in world history.  

 

Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

Biographical Information:

GALE Dictionary of Literary Biography

A resource for biographical information on literary figures throughout history.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography

A joint project hosted by the University of Toronto and Université Laval containing biographical information on notable Canadians.

 

 

Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

Grande Prairie Campus
10726 - 106 Avenue
Grande Prairie, AB T8V 4C4
Phone: 1-780-539-2939
Email: library@gprc.ab.ca
Fairview Campus
11235-98 Avenue
Fairview,AB T0H 1L0
Phone: 1-780-835-6750
Email: fvlibrary@gprc.ab.ca