Get the latest information and updates on GPRC’s response to COVID-19
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Learning Portal - Faculty Toolkit: Information Literacy Sessions

Information Literacy Instruction 

Learning Commons librarians are available to present workshops on information literacy and research skills. Librarians are also able to work with you to customize any workshop to your course or present on different topics not listed below. To book a workshop contact your personal librarian. Workshops can be held online (via zoom) or in-person in your classroom or in the Alward Lab.

Back to the Learning Portal 

Back to Faculty Toolkit

Learning Commons Orientation (in-class) 

  • 10-15 minutes
  • Intended audience: first years, new transfers
  • Covers basics of using the Learning Commons including accessing online material, checking out materials, scheduling and attending appointments, and hours of use

Customized Research

  • 45-60 minutes
  • Intended audience: students in designated courses
  • Covers research skills pertaining to a specific course or course assignment. Including searching subject-specific databases, looking for particular types of information (legal, governmental, primary, etc.) and identifying sources that fall within the scope of assignment or class (peer review, primary research, etc.)

Learning Commons Instruction Plan 

Learning Commons Orientation and Tour 

  • 25-30 minutes
  • Class to meet Librarian in Learning Commons space for a tour
  • Intended audience: first years, new transfers
  • Covers basics of using the Learning Commons including finding materials, checking out materials, using online catalogue, scheduling and attending appointments, and hours of use

Writing and Citation 

  • 30-45 minutes
  • Intended audience: first years 
  • Covers basic writing and citation techniques including how to write academically, how to incorporate quotes, how to cite paraphrased information, and how to format source lists.

Basic Research 

  • 45-60 minutes
  • Intended audience: first years
  • Covers basics of research including creating a research question, identifying keywords, search operators (Boolean, truncation, etc.), searching using Discover Layer and databases, peer-review and evaluating sources

Course-Related Instruction

  • Varied lengths
  • Intended audience: students in designated courses
  • Covers special topics requested by instructors. Past examples of course-related instruction include creating infographics, research translation, and open-source video and audio editing software.

Personal Librarians 

Kieren Bailey 

kbailey@gprc.ab.ca

780-539-2202

Marissa Rocca

mrocca@gprc.ab.ca

780-539-2936

Amanda Wills

awills@gprc.ab.ca

780-539-2940

  • Human Services
  • Nursing
  • PEAK
  • Business
  • Fine Arts,
  • Arts and Education, 
  • Academic Upgrading,
  • French as a Second Language and
  • Sciences 
  • TEN
  • Trades,
  • Animal Health Technology and 
  • Agriculture
Grande Prairie Campus
10726 - 106 Avenue
Grande Prairie, AB T8V 4C4
Phone: 1-780-539-2939
Email: library@gprc.ab.ca
Fairview Campus
11235-98 Avenue
Fairview,AB T0H 1L0
Phone: 1-780-835-6750
Email: fvlibrary@gprc.ab.ca