Get the latest information and updates on GPRC’s response to COVID-19
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Learn How to Research

OneSearch

Try out OneSearch.

The OneSearch is the Learning Common's main search bar. You can search for all types of resources through this search including online material, physical material, scholarly articles, news sources and more. Remember that not everything in the OneSearch is available in Grande Prairie; some of the materials are in our partner institutions so you will have to request that they are sent to you. 

Always use your "Refine Results" limiters to narrow your search. 

Some important limiters: 

  • "Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Sources" 

    • Only returns results that are scholarly (books) or peer-reviewed (articles)

  • "Publication Date" 

    • Important if you are looking for the most up-to-date research 

  • "Format" 

    • Lets you decide what type of resource to look at (eBook, physical book, journal article, etc.) 

Databases 

Check out all of GPRC's Databases here

Searching in a subject-specific database is a good way to narrow down your search. Many databases index resources from a specific discipline. Use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu to choose what subject you would like to search in. Remember that databases index journal articles from many different journals. Choosing a subject-specific database helps you run a more targeted search. 

Not all databases look the same or have the same "Refine Results" options. If you have trouble finding resources in any of GPRC's databases reach out to a librarian for help. 

Other Searches

Government of Canada 
The Government of Canada website has a search function that you can use to look for grey literature from multiple governmental agencies.
Statistics Canada 
If you are looking for up-to-date statistical information on Canada, StatsCan has a search function on their website that you can use to find the information you are looking for. 
News Sources 
The Learning Commons subscribes to multiple contemporary and historical news databases. These databases are great for finding first-person accounts of historical events or for gaining insight on recent happenings that haven't had scholarly work published on them yet. 
Grande Prairie Campus
10726 - 106 Avenue
Grande Prairie, AB T8V 4C4
Phone: 1-780-539-2939
Email: library@gprc.ab.ca
Fairview Campus
11235-98 Avenue
Fairview,AB T0H 1L0
Phone: 1-780-835-6750
Email: fvlibrary@gprc.ab.ca