Get the latest information and updates on GPRC’s response to COVID-19
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Learning Portal - Learning Online: Read&Write

What is Read&Write?

Read&Write is a program from TextHelp that has a wide range of functions to help you with reading, note-taking, and writing on a computer or digital device:

  • Read or listen to digital or online sources
  • Turn text into speech, or speech into text
  • Highlight and take notes digitally
  • Quickly create study guides and vocab lists
  • Convert PDFs and pictures of words into plain text
  • and more!

Top Tips

✓ GPRC Access. Read&Write’s full set of tools and services are available to all GPRC students and faculty. Just be sure to log in using your GPRC email and password.

✓ Tool Names. Once the program is installed, you can hover over each tool on the Read&Write toolbar to see its name easily.

✓ Customizable Toolbar. You can make the toolbar different sizes, remove or add icons, change the color, and use either 2D or 3D icons. These functions can all be found under the "Settings" menu at the far right end of the toolbar.

✓ Explore the tabs to the right to learn more about all the things Read&Write can do!

Intro to Read&Write

The main form of Read&Write is a toolbar which looks like this:

When you install the program and open it, just this toolbar will show up – there is no window or workspace attached. This is because you can use Read&Write with other programs you have open on your device, including:

  • Word documents
  • Websites
  • PDFs
  • PowerPoints
  • Class materials

Check out the other tabs on this page to learn more about how to install Read&Write, as well as the software's tools and settings and how to use them.


Helpful Links:

Read&Write Learning and User Resources from TextHelp

Read&Write Tech Support Resources from TextHelp 

Read&Write for Windows - User Resources Google Doc from TextHelp

Installing Read&Write

Read&Write is available for use by all GPRC users. Follow the instructions below to download and install the software, and access its full range of services:

Step 1: Visit this webpage: Read&Write For Education | Texthelp.

Step 2: Click on the “Try Read&Write” button; a drop-down menu with the versions of the software for different operating systems and browsers will appear. Choose the one you would like to download.

Step 3: It will download a file called “read&write.exe” – open this file on your device and click on “Accept and Install” to install the software.

Step 4: Open the Read&Write program from its icon. It will ask you to sign in using one of many possible options.

Step 5: Click on the “Sign in with Google” sign-in option. Choose the option to make a new Google account. Then, on the following screen, click "Use my current email address instead," as shown below. Then, enter your name, GPRC email address, and password to gain access to all Read&Write services.

Step 6: You should now be able to use all the features of Read&Write!


For more detailed instructions with pictures, including specific advice for different operating systems and browser plug-ins, click here.

The two functions covered in this section are the Speech Tools and the Screenshot Reader.

 1. Speech (Play/Rewind/Pause/Forward/Stop) 

These are the main tools that will read a document aloud for you, and control that reading. Watch the video from TextHelp (2017) below to learn how to use the Speech tools:


Other Tips for Using Speech Tools:

  • Under the main Settings icon, you can turn several Speech-related functions on and off, including "Speak as I type," "Screen reading," "Continuous reading," and "Read the web."
  • You can customize voice and language options, add pronunciations for unique words, and control other aspects of the Speech settings under Show More Settings --> Speech.

 2. Screenshot Reader 

The Screenshot Reader lets you select an area of text to be read aloud, either in a document or an image. Watch the video below from TextHelp (2017) to learn how to use this tool:


Other Tips for Using the Screenshot Reader:

  • You can use the Screenshot Reader for anything on your device screen: a document, a PDF, or a picture with text in it. It can be on a webpage or on something you downloaded - everything is fair game!
  • The Screenshot Reader works best on typed text in a clear, readable font. It's not very good at reading handwritten text or fonts with lots of loops, curves, or other unique details.
  • It also struggles to read text that is too small - but you can always try to zoom in!

The three tools covered in this section are Audio Maker, Talk&Type, and Voice Note.

 1. Audio Maker 

The Audio Maker tool allows you to create an audio file from selected text and save it to your device. Watch the video from TextHelp (2018) below to learn more about how to use this tool:


Other Tips for Using Audio Maker:

  • Audio Maker is a great way to create recordings of class readings that you can listen to later.

 2. Talk&Type 

The Talk&Type tool converts your speech into text that can be saved to your device. Watch the video from TextHelp (2021) below to learn more about how to use this tool:


Other Tips for Using Talk&Type:

  • You may have to go into your computer settings to allow access to the microphone/speech-to-text function in order to use Talk&Type.

 3. Voice Note 

The Voice Note tool allows you to create short voice recording notes on an existing document. Watch the video from TextHelp (2018) below to learn more about how to use Voice Note:


 

There are four tools covered in this section: Scan, Screen Masking, PDF Reader, and Highlighters/Collect Highlights.

 1. Scan

The Scan tool allows you to convert images or documents into PDFs or plain text Word documents. Watch the video from TextHelp (2017) below to learn more about how to use this tool:


 

 2. Screen Masking

The Screen Masking tool allows you to selectively block or obscure parts of your screen to help with focus or recall. Watch the video from TextHelp (2017) below to learn more about how to use this tool:


Other Tips for Using Screen Masking

  • To help focus on one line/one section at a time as you read, you can create a brightly colored bar, or mask most of your screen except for a chunk of clear space, and move it up and down as you go along.
  • To quiz yourself on class material, you can create solid blocks of color to cover the answers on your screen until you're ready to check them.

 3. PDF Reader

The PDF Reader allows you to open PDFs to be read, highlighted, and processed by Read&Write. Watch the video from TextHelp (2017) below to learn more about how to use this tool:


 

 4. Highlighters/Collect Highlights

The highlighter tools include four colors of highlighters, an erase tool to remove highlights, and the Collect Highlights tool, which can gather all the content you've highlighted into a document. Watch the video from TextHelp (2017) below to learn more about how to use these tools:


Other Tips for Using the Highlighters and Collection Tools:

  • Assign different colored highlighters to different types of information. When the highlights are collected into a document, they will be grouped by color:
    • You can make study material where information is automatically arranged by topic.
    • If you're preparing to write an essay, you can choose different colors to represent the sub-points of your essay, so your evidence will be grouped by subject.

There are six tools covered in this section: Check It, Prediction, Dictionary, Picture Dictionary, Vocabulary List, and Translator.

 1. Check It 

The Check It tool is a spelling and grammar checker. Watch the video below from TextHelp (2018) to learn more about how to use Check It:


 

 2. Prediction 

The Prediction tool suggests words that might come next in your sentence. Watch the video from TextHelp (2018) below for more on how to use this tool:


 

 3. Dictionary

The Dictionary tool helps you find the meaning of words. Watch the video from TextHelp (2017) below to learn more about how to use this tool:


 

 4. Picture Dictionary

The Picture Dictionary tool provides picture definitions to help with understanding and recalling new words. Watch the video from TextHelp (2017) below to learn more about how to use this tool:


 

 5. Vocabulary List

The Vocabulary List tool allows you to automatically create lists of new words and add details to help you remember them. Watch the video from TextHelp (2017) below to learn more about how to use this tool:


 

 6. Translator

The Translator tool allows you to translate text between different languages. Watch the video from TextHelp (2019) below for more about how to use this tool:


 

The content of this guide was based on support resources developed by TextHelp adapted for the GPRC Learning Commons by Claire Pienaar in September 2021. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons BY 4.0 International License.

Grande Prairie Campus
10726 - 106 Avenue
Grande Prairie, AB T8V 4C4
Phone: 1-780-539-2939
Email: library@gprc.ab.ca
Fairview Campus
11235-98 Avenue
Fairview,AB T0H 1L0
Phone: 1-780-835-6750
Email: fvlibrary@gprc.ab.ca