Skip to main content

Using the Library: Faculty Services

Welcome

Welcome to your GPRC Library

We have libraries on both the Grande Prairie and Fairview campuses, offering a wide range of materials and services for you and your students.

Your Library Card

Your Staff ID card is also your Library Card.  

Services for you!

Electronic Items

All article links need to be "authenticated" for off-campus access.  Use this form if your article DOES NOT have the following prefix: http://ezproxy.agpc.talonline.ca/login?url=

  1. Copy the URL and paste it into the first box.
  2. Click on Convert.
  3. Copy and paste the converted URL to your Moodle site.

Paste the link to the article or ebook.

Converted Link: Copy and paste this link to your Moodle course.

 

 

Permanent Links

Permanent Links or Permalinks in the Ebsco databases are already configured for you. 

Print Items

Complete the Reserve Request Form.

  • Bring the completed form and books, articles, DVDs to the Circulation desk.

  • Items will normally be available within a week of submission. 

We created Library Guides or Research Starters which are intended to be a portal or starting point for library research for a specific subject/discipline or for a course/assignment. Research Starters are available for a variety of subjects and we welcome your input in further developing the guides.

You can also embed Library Guides into your Moodle Courses! Here is a short video that demonstrates how:

We are proud to have a large collection of material for you in our two campus libraries. Our OneSearch service allows you to search for books and articles at the same time and is available on our Library homepage.

  • 70,000 print books
  • 300,000+ electronic books
  • 200+ journal subscriptions (both print and electronic)
  • DVDs
  • Streaming video collections
     

Help us build our collection!

The GPRC Librarian, Kieren Bailey, works collaboratively with faculty to develop the Library Collection in your subject area.  We welcome and encourage faculty to be involved in helping us build a strong library collection.

Feel free to suggest a purchase in any of the following ways:

  • Fill out Book Purchase Request Form online.
  • Drop by and visit your librarian.
  • Send us your requests through campus mail.  We take newspaper clippings, publishers catalogues, and even little slips of paper but the more information you can provide the better!

 

 

Members of the GPRC Library have access to the collections of 20 Alberta Libraries via the NEOS Library Consortium.  That's over 6 million items! There are two ways to search the collection.

NEOS Search

Offers browsable searching and direct access to your library account, reserve materials, and Fairview holdings.

TAL (The Alberta Library) is a provincial consortium that facilitates the sharing of resources across Alberta.  You can search the collections of Alberta Libraries through TAL Online and place requests for items using your GPRC Library card!

Visiting another city and want to borrow a book?  Come and see us and we can issue you a TAL Card so you can borrow items from other libraries when you visit in-person!

Librarian Kieren Bailey and Library Technician Chris Murphy are available to facilitate Library Instruction sessions for all subject areas within the college throughout the year. Whether it is for your first year class or a refresher for experienced students, we can tailor the session to meet your needs. Topics include (but are not limited to):

  • Research Techniques (how to find journal articles and books)
  • Using Electronic Resources (i.e. databases and e-books)
  • Citation Styles (APA, MLA, Chicago)
  • Plagiarism
  • How to Evaluate a Website
  • One-on-One Research Appointments
  • Academic Success Centre Services (Math, Science, Writing and Grammar tutors)

Library Instruction sessions are held either in the GPRC Library's Alward Computer Lab (we can seat 27 students) or in your own classroom if it has videoconferencing capability; we can come to you! Sessions can be scheduled during regular class time or any time the library is open. We also strive to incorporate course assignments and hands-on learning activities into the sessions to make learning more relevant to your students. Click on the link below to get started!

Library Instruction Request Form for Instructors

Library Instruction Evaluation Form for Students

Library cards

Your library card is your staff ID card.  If you are a new faculty member, please visit our Public Service Desk so we can add your record!

Using our resources

Item Loan period Renewals Fines
Book (GPRC) Term loan 5
All NEOS items 2 weeks 2 $1.00/day
DVDS

1 week (GP)

In library only (Fairview)

2
Curriculum 1 week 2
Journals & magazines

In-library only (GP)

1 week (Fairview)

Cameras 3 day
Reference books By special arrangement

Interlibrary Loan

Looking for books or articles that aren't in our collection or in NEOS?  Use our Interlibrary Loan service.  This speedy service often delivers your requested articles within hours!

 

 

Loading ...

Who we are

Grande Prairie Campus
10726 - 106 Avenue
Grande Prairie, AB T8V 4C4
Phone: 1-780-539-2939
Email: library@gprc.ab.ca
Fairview Campus
11235-98 Avenue
Fairview,AB T0H 1L0
Phone: 1-780-835-6641
Email: library@gprc.ab.ca