Get the latest information and updates on GPRC’s response to COVID-19
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Resources

Best Bets (Peer-Reviewed and Scholarly Sources)

JSTOR Journal Collections (ITHAKA) 

  • Collection of peer-reviewed and scholarly materials (journals and books) including multiple music-related sources 

  • Find a list of the music journals included in this database here 

Project MUSE 

  • Collection of peer-reviewed and scholarly materials (journals and books) including multiple music-related sources 

  • Find a list of the music journals included in this database here 

Browzine

  • Collection of academic journals organized by subject 

  • Find a list of the music journals included in this database here

  • Note: this is a browsing resource, it does not have a search function beyond searching for specific journal titles 

Other Music Resources (Scholarly and Popular Sources) : 

Medici.tv

  • Catalogue of classical music, opera, and musical works 

  • Includes filmed performances and concerts, documentaries, and other musical works 

Virtual Gramophone: Canadian Historical Sound Recordings 

  • From Libraries and Archives Canada 

  • Includes images, digital recordings, biographies of musicians, histories of music, and recorded sound in Canada 

CBC Digital Archives 

  • Canadian Content 

  • Radio and TV clips organized by subject

Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) 

  • Collection of peer-reviewed and scholarly materials (journals and books) including multiple music-related sources 

  • Also includes (popular) non-scholarly sources 

NFB CAMPUS 

  • Streaming video content on a variety of topics 

  • Note: you must create a free account to access additional educational resources on this database

Grande Prairie Campus
10726 - 106 Avenue
Grande Prairie, AB T8V 4C4
Phone: 1-780-539-2939
Email: library@gprc.ab.ca
Fairview Campus
11235-98 Avenue
Fairview,AB T0H 1L0
Phone: 1-780-835-6750
Email: fvlibrary@gprc.ab.ca